Common-law marriage has diverse names, from "marriage in fact", "marriage by repute and habit", "informal…
Where to Apply
How do I get married in Alaska?
To get married in Alaska, you must first apply for a marriage license at a trial court or vital records office.
Should I apply in trial court or vital records?
If you're applying in Juneau or Anchorage, go to health analytics and vital records. If you're applying elsewhere, go to a trial court.
Who do I submit my paperwork to?
The licensing officer or court clerk will guide you, prepare the forms, and take payment.
What documents will I receive?
Your marriage license has a certificate of marriage form. Give this to your officiant to complete and later mail back.
Is there a residency requirement?
You do not have to live in Alaska to marry in Alaska. The procedure is the same for residents and nonresidents.
Is U.S. citizenship required?
You do not have to be a U.S. citizen to get married in Alaska.
How much is a marriage license?
An Alaska marriage license costs $60.
How much is a reissued marriage license?
You can get your marriage license reissued for $15, assuming it has not expired.
How much is a certified marriage certificate?
A certified copy of your Alaska marriage certificate costs $30. Extras are $25 each.
How much is a noncertified heirloom marriage certificate?
An heirloom marriage certificate costs $65. Each added copy is $60. Heirlooms are not legal documents.
How much is a civil ceremony?
A civil ceremony at a courthouse costs $25. It is by appointment only. Bring two witnesses.
Where can I use my marriage license?
You may use your marriage license anywhere in Alaska. It is not valid outside the state.
Can I use another state's marriage license in Alaska?
You may not use another state's or country's marriage license to wed in Alaska.
What form must I fill out?
You must fill out and swear to the following on the marriage license application:
- Bride, groom, or spouse
- First, middle, last
- Birth surname
- As shown on your birth certificate
- City and state or foreign country
- Or PO Box
- Phone number
- Social security number
- If you have one
- Collected on a separate form
- If you're related by blood
- First cousins may not marry
- Document each prior marriage
- Date and place married
- Ex-spouse's name
- End date
- End place
- End reason (e.g., annulment, divorce, dissolution, death)
Will my application be disclosed?
Your application will be a public record. Anyone may inspect it during normal office hours.
Will my social security number be on the public record?
Your social security number will not be part of the public record. Child support enforcement agencies will have access to it though.
Do I have to apply in person?
You may mail or fax a notarized application instead of applying in person.
Can I submit my application online?
You cannot apply for a marriage license online. Apply by mail, fax, or in office.
How old must I be to marry?
Aged 18 and over?
If you're at least 18 years old, you may marry without the consent of a parent or guardian.
Aged 16 and 17?
If you're 16 or 17 years old, you may marry with the written consent of both parents, the sole custodial parent, or legal guardian.
Aged 14 and 15?
If you're 14 or 15 years old, you may marry with a court order from a superior court judge.
Aged 13 and under?
If you're 13 years old or younger, you may not get married in Alaska.
How do I fulfill the consent requirement?
Are you military?
Minors who are U.S. military do not need parental consent to marry. Bring proof of active duty status.
How is consent granted?
Hand in a signed parental consent form. Your parent or guardian need not attend. Consent forms are available in office.
Is proof of custody necessary?
Sole custodial parents must bring proof of custody. The same rule applies to guardians.
What if my parents are divorced?
If just one parent has custody, then their consent alone is enough.
What if my parents will not grant consent?
If you're a minor who cannot get consent to marry, a superior court judge can override.
Is there a premarital education program?
Alaska does not have a state-sanctioned premarital education program in place.
When will I get my marriage license?
Your marriage license will be ready for pick up three business days after your application is received.
Can the waiting period be waived?
The licensing officer may waive the three-day wait without charge if the delay harms you.
Can they mail us our marriage license?
Although you may apply by mail, you must collect your marriage license in person.
Who's authorized to pick up our marriage license?
Either party to the marriage may pick up the marriage license. You may not designate a third party.
How long will my marriage license be held in reserve?
If you do not pick up your marriage license within one year, you must reapply.
How long will my marriage license last?
Your marriage license will expire three months after it is issued.
Do I need to show ID?
Bring government-issued photo ID, such as a driver's license, passport, or state, military, or tribal ID card.
Do I need to show my birth certificate?
Prepare to show a certified copy of your birth certificate if asked. This is a likely ask for minors.
Do I need to show my social security card?
You do not have to bring your social security card. Just know the number.
Do I have to get a blood test?
Alaska nixed the syphilis and other infectious disease blood test law in 1984.
Do I have to prove I'm divorced?
If you divorced within the past 60 days, you may have to show a certified copy of your divorce decree.
How soon can I marry after divorce?
Once a judge signs off on your divorce, you may get married without delay.
Do I have to prove I'm widowed?
If widowed within the past 60 days, be ready to show a certified copy of the death certificate.
How soon can I marry after being widowed?
You do not have to wait to remarry following the death of a spouse.
How do I change my name by marriage?
Use a certified copy of your marriage certificate to change your name. You may work on the forms now or after marriage.
Are witnesses required?
Two competent witnesses must be at your marriage ceremony. They must sign your certificate of marriage.
What happens if I marry without witnesses?
Despite what the law says, Alaska will not void an otherwise lawful marriage for lack of witnesses.
Who may conduct our marriage?
A marriage commissioner or religious, judicial, or elected official may conduct your marriage.
Can we conduct our own ceremony?
You may not self-solemnize your marriage. A third-party must officiate.
Does the state keep a registry of officiants?
The state does not have a list of active or registered officiants.
Can a friend or family member act as our officiant?
For $25, a judicial district judge can appoint any adult a marriage commissioner to one marriage, for one day, at one place.
When must my marriage license go back?
Your officiant must send your completed marriage license back to the office that issued it within seven days after marriage.
How do I get a copy of my marriage certificate?
Can I get a copy from a trial court instead?
Most trial courts issue marriage licenses. They do not issue marriage certificates. That is the job of Health Analytics and Vital Records.
What is an heirloom marriage certificate?
An heirloom marriage certificate is for display only. It does not have the same legal status as a regular certificate. It costs $60.
Can I get married by proxy?
You cannot get married by proxy or surrogate. You must be at your marriage ceremony.
Can I marry a first cousin?
You may not marry a first cousin in Alaska.
Can I marry a family member?
You may not marry whole or half blood kin within four degrees of consanguinity. This includes first cousins.
Can I get married by common law?
Alaska got rid of common-law marriage in 1917.