Common-law marriage has diverse names, from "marriage in fact", "marriage by repute and habit", "informal…
Where to Apply
Where can I obtain a marriage license?
You can apply for an Arizona marriage license at any clerk of the superior court office and some authorized justice courts.
How much does a marriage license cost?
An Arizona marriage license costs $83 no matter where you apply. A covenant marriage license costs the same.
Does my residency make a difference?
Your residency doesn't matter when applying for a marriage license.
Where can I use my marriage license?
Your marriage license is good for use anywhere in Arizona.
What will the marriage license application ask for?
Under oath, the brief application solicits your name, residential address, date of birth, social security number, and that you're not related to each other.
Do we have to apply together?
You and your fiancé must submit your application together, in person. Applying absentee or by proxy is not allowed.
How old must I be to lawfully marry?
Aged 18 and over?
Adults aged 18 and over can lawfully marry without parental consent.
Aged 16 and 17?
If you're 16 or 17 years old, you can marry if you're legally emancipated or a custodial parent or guardian grants consent in person or through a notarized consent form. Additionally, your fiancé can't be more than three years older than you.
Aged 15 and under?
As of August 3, 2018, minors below the age of 16 can no longer lawfully marry.
When will I get my marriage license?
Your marriage license will be issued immediately. You can marry anytime afterward.
When long will my marriage license last?
Your marriage license will remain valid for one year after it's issued.
What sort of ID do I have to bring?
Bring ID to verify your age and identity, such as a driver's license, state-issued ID card, military ID card, passport, baptismal record, or birth certificate.
Is a blood test required?
You don't have to get a blood test in order to get a marriage license.
Do I have to bring proof of divorce?
If you're a divorcee, you don't have to bring finalized divorce papers.
Do I have to prove I'm a widow or widower?
If you're a widow or widower, you don't have to bring proof of death.
Are witnesses required at my ceremony?
Two witnesses aged 18 or over must attend your marriage ceremony and sign the bottom marriage certificate portion of the license afterward.
How do I change my name after marriage?
Your marriage certificate can be used to legally change your name with the Social Security Administration and Motor Vehicle Services, among others. You can use a marriage name change package to prepare the necessary forms before or after you're married.
When does my license need to be returned?
Your officiant must return the marriage license to the issuing superior court within 30 days following the marriage ceremony so that it may be recorded.
How do I get a copy of my marriage certificate?
You can purchase a certified copy of your marriage certificate with raised seal for $37.50 from the superior court clerk's office that issued your marriage license. It costs $30.50 if you provide your own self-stamped envelope.
Should I order a certified marriage license, certificate, or affidavit?
In Arizona, a certified marriage license, certified marriage certificate, and certified affidavit of marriage record are different names for the same document.
Can I have a common-law marriage?
You can't establish a common-law marriage in Arizona. However, the state will recognize a common-law marriage lawfully originated in another state.
Can I marry my cousin?
You can marry your first cousin if you're both aged 65 or over, either is proved sterile from a licensed physician's letter, and a superior court judge approves it.
Can I get married by proxy?
You cannot have a proxy stand in for you at the marriage ceremony. You must both be in attendance.
Can I get married in a civil ceremony?
The superior court clerk's office does not perform civil ceremonies. You'll have to independently schedule your ceremony with a justice of the peace.