Common-law marriage has diverse names, from "marriage in fact", "marriage by repute and habit", "informal…
Where to Apply
Where can I get a marriage license?
You can get a Colorado marriage license at any county clerk and recorder's office. No appointment necessary.
Can I get a civil union license?
The county clerk and recorder's office has issued civil union licenses to legal adults since May 1, 2013. Marriage license standards outlined in this document also apply to civil union licenses, unless otherwise stated.
How much does a marriage license cost?
The Colorado marriage license fee is standardized at $30 statewide.
Does is my residency a factor?
Your residency doesn't affect the application process.
Where can I use my marriage license?
Your Colorado marriage license is good for use anywhere in the state, but only in Colorado.
What will the application ask me to detail?
The application will ask for your current, birth, and prior married name; address, date and place of birth, gender, social security number, marital status, expected ceremony date, parents' or guardians' names and residences, and when, where, and how your last marriage ended.
What if I can't apply in person?
Only one party to a marriage can apply absentee. If that's you, your fiancé can submit your notarized absentee affidavit application and ID copy when they apply. Blank affidavit applications are available at the clerk and recorder's office.
What are the age-related requirements for marriage?
Aged 18 and over?
If you're aged 18 or over, there are no age-related preconditions for marriage.
Aged 16 and 17?
If you're 16 or 17 years old, you can marry with permission from your custodial parents, a guardian, or a certified court order. Parental consent forms are available at the clerk and recorder's office.
Aged 15 and under?
If you're less than 16 years old, you can marry with a certified court order and consent from your custodial parents or guardian.
When will I get my marriage license?
Your marriage license will be issued moments after you submit your application. You can marry that same day.
How long will my marriage license be good for?
Your marriage license will remain valid for 35 days after issuance. Unused licenses should be returned to the county clerk and recorder.
What ID must I show when applying?
Bring photo identification to confirm your age, such as a driver's license, passport, state-issued ID card, or military ID card. Some clerks may accept a certified copy of your birth certificate. A few clerks may request your social security card as well.
Must I bring my birth certificate?
Minors must bring a certified copy of their birth certificate.
Do I have to get a blood test?
Premarital blood tests haven't been required in Colorado since July 1, 1989.
What if my prior marriage ended in divorce or annulment?
If you've been married before, the vast majority of clerks will want to see a certified copy of your divorce decree, annulment order, or other dissolution document. Any prior cohabitation or civil union must also be dissolved to avoid a felonious bigamy charge.
Do I have to bring evidence of my spouse's death?
If you're a widow or widower, you don't need to bring your late spouse's death certificate. Knowing the date and place of death is sufficient.
Should I bring witnesses to my ceremony?
Although you're not required to bring witnesses to your marriage ceremony, up to two witnesses may sign your marriage license after the ceremony.
How do I change my name because of marriage?
Your marriage certificate empowers you to change your name as a result of marriage. You can prepare your name change forms online. Start with the SSA, then DMV and passport. Notify government and nongovernment institutions one-by-one until you're done.
When does my marriage license need to be returned?
Your marriage license must be returned to the issuing clerk and recorder within 63 days after marriage so that it may be recorded. Failure to return on time results in a $20 late fee.
Where can I get a copy of my marriage certificate?
You can buy a certified copy of your marriage license for $1.25 from the same county clerk and recorder's office that issued and recorded your marriage license.
Can I enter into a common-law marriage?
You can establish a new common-law marriage in Colorado as long as you're at least 18 years old.
Can I marry my first cousin?
You are allowed to marry your first cousin.
Can I get married by proxy?
In order to get married by proxy, both of you must be legal adults, and either of you must be a Colorado resident serving overseas in the U.S. armed forces. You must designate on a power of attorney form who will be your stand-in at the ceremony.
Can I get married in a civil ceremony?
The county clerk and recorder can direct you to judges and magistrates who are authorized to preside over your civil marriage or civil union.
Can we perform our own ceremony?
Colorado law allows you to self-solemnize your marriage ceremony without a judge or officiant present.
Can I get a marriage license to renew my vows?
Your vow renewal can be formally recognized by submitting a regular marriage license application. When applying, specify "married" or "married to each other" as your current marital status.