Common-law marriage has diverse names, from "marriage in fact", "marriage by repute and habit", "informal…
Where to Apply
How do I get a Connecticut marriage license?
You may apply for a Connecticut marriage license at a town clerk's office.
What if I live in a city instead of a town?
Connecticut has 169 towns of which 19 are considered city-towns. Just go to the town clerk.
May I apply for a civil union license?
Connecticut no longer issues civil union licenses as of October 1, 2010.
Who will process my application?
The town clerk, or their deputy or assistant, will help you.
What role does residency play?
Where you live does not matter, but you must apply in the town where the marriage will occur.
May foreigners marry in Connecticut?
Nonresidents and non-U.S. citizens are free to marry in Connecticut.
How much is a marriage license?
A Connecticut marriage license costs $50. The price jumped from $30 to $50 on July 1, 2018.
How much is a marriage certificate?
A certified copy of your Connecticut marriage certificate costs $20 per copy.
May I preorder a marriage certificate when applying?
You may buy a marriage certificate in advance when applying for a marriage license.
Where may I get married?
You may only use your Connecticut marriage license in the town of issuance.
May I use another state's marriage license?
You must use a Connecticut marriage license to marry in Connecticut.
What if I get married in the wrong town?
If you do not marry in the town listed on your marriage license, it could invalidate the license.
What if I cannot apply in person?
You must apply in person. You may not apply by proxy or power of attorney.
Do we have to apply together?
You do not have to apply together. The application date starts with whoever applies last.
What goes on the marriage license application?
You must fill out the following on the marriage license application/worksheet:
- First, middle, last, suffix
- Do not use initials or nicknames
- Date of birth
- Residential address
- Street, city or town, county, state
- Education completed
- K-12 and college
- Phone number
- One for both
- Social security number
- Under control of conservator or guardian
- Yes or no
- Full name
- State or foreign country of birth
- Full maiden name
- State or foreign country of birth
- Ceremony info…
- Ceremony date
- Ceremony city or town
- Officiant's name, address, phone
- Last relationship was…
- Marriage or civil union
- Last relationship ended by…
- Death, divorce, dissolution, marrying civil union partner
- Prior marriages and civil unions
- Total marriages
- Total civil unions
How old must I be to marry?
Aged 18 and over?
If you're at least 18 years old with no controlling guardian or conservator, you may marry without seeking permission.
Aged 16 and 17?
If you're 16 or 17 years old, you may marry with parental and judicial consent.
Aged 15 and under?
Gov. Malloy signed SB12345 (June 20, 2017), which raised the minimum age to marry from none to 16. It took effect October 1, 2017.
What are the rules for child marriage?
Who grants consent?
At least one parent or guardian must consent to their child's marriage in probate court.
Who submits the petition?
One parent or guardian must petition the court on their child's behalf.
What about divorced parents?
Either parent may file the court petition, regardless of divorce or custody status.
Which court should be petitioned?
Petition a probate court in the child's district of residence. See the probate court directory.
What happens during a court hearing?
The court hearing will approve licensure if the following is true:
- Minor consents
- Parent or guardian consents
- Minor has capacity to understand
- Minor is entering into marriage willingly
- Marriage would not be harmful to the minor's wellbeing
What if we both live in different counties?
Each minor must petition their county's probate court, which could mean two filings.
Is there a premarital education program?
Connecticut does not have a state-recognized premarital education program.
When will I get my marriage license?
You will get your marriage license moments after applying.
How long will my marriage license last?
Your marriage license will expire 65 days after issuance.
What if my marriage license expires?
If your marriage license expires, you must reapply and repay the fee.
Do I have to show ID?
Bring unexpired government-issued photo ID, such as a driver's license or passport.
Do I have to show my birth certificate?
You do not have to show your birth certificate.
Do I have to show my social security card?
Various clerks may ask to see your social security card or a document that shows the number.
Is a blood test required?
Connecticut repealed the STD and rubella premarital blood test requirement, effective October 1, 2003.
Must I show proof of divorce?
You do not have to bring your divorce decree or annulment certificate.
How soon may I marry after divorce?
There is no wait time between divorce and remarriage.
Must I show proof of being widowed?
You do not have to bring a death certificate.
How soon may I remarry after being widowed?
There is no wait time between a spouse's death and remarriage.
How do I change my name through marriage?
You may change your name through marriage with a certified copy of your marriage certificate.
Are witnesses required?
You do not have to bring witnesses to your marriage ceremony.
Who may officiate our marriage?
A judge, justice of the peace, or clergy member may solemnize your marriage ceremony.
May I hire the town clerk to marry us?
Clerks may not conduct civil ceremonies for licenses their office issues.
Does my officiant have to live in the state?
Officiants do not have to reside in Connecticut to oversee marriages.
Does my officiant have to register with the state?
Connecticut does not keep a registry of officiants.
May we officiate our own marriage without an officiant?
You may not self-solemnize your own marriage service. Someone else must officiate.
May I get married in a civil ceremony?
Contact the town clerk's office for a list of local justices of the peace.
When must my marriage license be returned?
After marriage, your officiant must return your marriage certificate to the issuing clerk by the first week of the next month.
How do I get a copy of my marriage certificate?
You may buy a certified copy of your marriage certificate for $20 from the town clerk's office that issued you your marriage license.
May I get married by proxy?
Connecticut does not allow marriage by proxy. You must be at your ceremony.
Note: Marriage among prohibited relations is void.
May I marry my cousin?
You may marry a first cousin in Connecticut.
May I marry a family member?
You may not marry a parent, grandparent, child, grandchild, sibling, aunt, uncle, niece, or nephew.
May I marry a half-blood relation?
You may not marry a half-sibling, -aunt, -uncle, -niece, or -nephew.
May I marry a stepparent or stepchild?
You may not marry a stepparent, -child, or -sibling.
Will the application even ask if we're related?
The marriage application will not ask if and how you're related to one another.
May I enter into a common-law marriage?
Connecticut law does not recognize common-law marriage. It never has.
May we apply for a remarriage license?
Connecticut will not issue you a marriage license to remarry your current spouse.
May I apply for a marriage license if I'm in a civil union?
You may apply for a marriage license if you're in a civil union, domestic partnership, or similar.