Common-law marriage has diverse names, from "marriage in fact", "marriage by repute and habit", "informal…
Where to Apply
Where do I go to get a marriage license?
You can apply for a marriage license at any Florida circuit court. Go to the clerk of the circuit court's office.
How much will a marriage license cost me?
A Florida marriage license costs precisely $93.50 no matter where you apply.
What if I can't afford to pay the license fee?
If money's tight, you can pay for your marriage license in three installments over a 90-day period. You'll get your license when it's paid in full.
Are there any residency requirements?
There are no residency requirements to get a Florida marriage license. However, Florida residents must endure a waiting period to marry.
Where can I use my marriage license?
You can use your Florida marriage license to marry anywhere in the state, but only in this state.
What will be asked of me on the application?
The marriage license application will ask the usual: name, date of birth, marital history, social security number, etc.
Do we have to apply together?
You and your fiancé must apply for a marriage license together, in person. You cannot apply absentee, by proxy, or through a power of attorney.
How old do I have to be to get married?
Aged 18 and over?
If you're 18 years old or over, there are no age restrictions to marry.
Aged 16 and 17?
If you're 16 or 17 years old, your custodial parents must consent to your marriage. However, if you've been married before (bring proof), consent isn't required.
Aged 17 and below?
If you're a minor who's a parent or pregnant, you can marry without parental consent—assuming that a county judge authorizes it.
What's the benefit of premarital preparation?
If you and your fiancé have completed a 4+ hour premarital preparation course (together or separately) within the past year, then the marriage license fee will be lowered to $61 and the waiting period to marry will be waived.
When will I get my license?
You'll get your license immediately, but if you're a Florida resident you'll have to wait three days to marry.
Can the waiting period be waived?
You can get the waiting period waived by declaring it a hardship, asking a county judge to overturn it, or completing a premarital preparation course.
How long is my marriage license good for?
Your marriage license will expire 90 days after its been issued.
Do I have to show ID when applying?
You'll have to submit photo ID, such as a:
- Driver's license
- Florida-issued ID card
- Military ID card
- Green card
Do minors have extra ID requirements?
If you're a minor, you'll also have to bring a certified copy of your birth certificate.
Do I have to get a blood test?
There is no blood test requirement.
What if I've been divorced?
If you've been divorced, bring a certified copy of your divorce decree. Most, but not all, clerks require proof; especially if the divorce took place less than 30 days ago. For annulled marriages, bring the certified annulment order.
What if my prior spouse has passed away?
If you're a widow or widower, bring a certified copy of the death certificate of your deceased spouse. Some clerks may not ask for this, but many will.
Are witnesses required at my marriage ceremony?
Two competent witnesses must attend your marriage ceremony and sign your marriage license afterward.
If you're going to change your name after marriage in Florida, you have a few options: take your spouse's surname, hyphenate, or replace your middle name with your maiden name. You can make use of a marriage name change program to assist, as it's not an automatic process.
When does my license have to go back?
Your marriage license must be returned to the circuit court for recording no more than 10 days after your marriage ceremony.
How do I get a copy of my marriage certificate?
You can order a certified copy of your marriage certificate from either the circuit court clerk for $7 or the Bureau of Vital Statistics for $5.
Can I enter into a common-law marriage?
Florida will only recognize a common-law marriage that took place on or before January 1, 1968.
Can I marry my cousin?
Florida does indeed permit you to marry your first cousin, but no familial relationship closer than that.
Can I get married by proxy?
You can't have a proxy or stand-in represent you during the marriage ceremony. You have to be there yourself.
How much for a civil ceremony?
You can get married in a civil ceremony at the circuit court for $30.
Can I renew my vows?
Florida does not issue marriage licenses for vow renewals. That's a private matter.