Apart from imposing penalties and fines on offenders across the divide, states around the country have enacted laws imposing non-offender…
Where to go
Where can I get a marriage license?
Kansas marriage licenses are issued on the county level, at the District Court, by the Clerk of the District Court.
Where can I use it once I get it?
Your marriage license can be used throughout the state, regardless of which District Court you get it from.
Your license is only valid within the borders of Kansas. For instance, you can't get a marriage license from the neighboring state of Nebraska, then use it here—and vice versa.
How much is a marriage license in Kansas?
A marriage license costs exactly $85.50 USD. This price is established by state law and doesn't change no matter where you buy your license.
I've changed my mind; can I get my money back?
District Courts will not issue refunds for unused marriage licenses.
Even if you're still waiting to receive your license after submitting an application (see waiting periods), you will not be reimbursed after you've already paid.
Must we both be present when applying?
Only one party to the marriage must be present when applying for a marriage license.
Is there a waiting period to get a marriage license?
Kansas does have a three (3) day waiting period before getting a marriage license. Your license will be issued three days after your application is received by the District Court.
How soon can I get married after getting a license?
You can get married immediately after you receive your marriage license. There is no post-issuance waiting period to abide by before you can have your marriage ceremony.
When will my marriage license expire?
Your Kansas marriage license will expire six (6) months after it's been issued. If you don't get married before time runs out, you'll have to start over and apply for a brand new license.
I need more time; can I get an extension on my license?
Extensions are not provided for expired (or near expiring) marriage licenses. If your license completely expires you must reapply and repay the same $85.50 application fee, wherein you'll be given six more months.
What are the rules for residents and non-residents?
Whether you're a resident or non-resident of Kansas, the rules are the same; you can apply for a marriage license anywhere in the state. You can then get married anywhere within the state.
How old must I be to get married?
You must be 18 years old (or above) to get married in Kansas without parental consent.
16 to 17 years old
You must obtain the consent of both parents or legal guardians. It's not sufficient if only one parent/guardian acquiesces—both must agree.
15 years old
You must obtain a court order from a District Judge—in Kansas—which will authorize the Clerk of the District Court to issue a marriage license.
14 years old and below
A person who is 14 years old, or below, cannot be issued a marriage license and may not marry.
What forms of ID must I bring?
There are multiple types of identification to consider bringing when applying for a marriage license at your local District Court. They are as follows:
Provide one of the following:
- Driver's License
- State-issued Identification
- Military Identification Card
- Issued by U.S. Armed Forces
- Military Dependent Identification Card
- Issued by U.S. Armed Forces
Provide the following:
- Social Security Number
- Issued by the SSA
- You don't need to bring you card; just know your number
- It's understood that non-U.S. citizens are unlikely to have a SSN
How do I go about changing my name due to marriage?
Undergoing a marriage-related name change in the state of Kansas (or any other state) involves notifying various government and non-government institutions. You'll typically start with updating your Social Security Card, driver's license, passport, and other federal/state/non-governmental institutions.
Keep in mind, your name does not automatically and legally change just because you get married or obtain a marriage license or marriage certificate; you must go through the steps of updating your identification documents, whether it's through an online name change service, or contacting the SSA, State Dept. and KS DOR directly.
Am I required to get a blood test?
No, Kansas does not require you, nor your partner, to get a blood test as a condition for getting a marriage license.
What if I've been previously divorced?
If you've been previously divorced, or have had an annulment or dissolution, there are extra bits of information that you must provide the Clerk of the District Court when applying.
If your last divorce, annulment, or dissolution took place within the past 30 days, provide the following:
Things you must bring
You will need to provide a copy of your divorce decree (aka divorce certificate). It must be an original or certified copy—not a photocopy. The Clerk of the District Court will not keep your certificate; it just needs to be examined for authenticity, and to confirm your previous marriage is over.
What if I'm separated from my spouse, but not yet divorced?
Kansas law forbids a marriage license be granted to anyone who is currently married or separated from their spouse. You must have your divorce finalized, or marriage annulled, before getting married again.
What if I'm currently a widow or widower?
If your previous marriage left you as a widow or widower, the District Court will need to solicit basic information regarding the death of your spouse.
Things you must know
You must be able to specify the date your spouse died.
Things you must bring
You don't need to bring any documentation to substantiate the death of your spouse. Simply providing rudimentary details regarding your spouse's death is sufficient when filling out your application.
Who's allowed to marry me?
Kansas law recognizes several types of officiants who may legally officiate (i.e., preside over) your marriage. They are as follows:
The following clergymen, whom are part of any church or congregation within the state of Kansas, can preside over your marriage.
- Ordained Clergyman
- Religious Denomination Authority
- Religious Society Authority
- Denominational Body Licentiate
- Bishop Appointee
Finally, the following secular officiants can solemnize the rights of matrimonial contract.
- Judge (of a Court of Record)
- Current or retired
- Justice (of a Court of Record)
- Current or retired
- City Municipal Judge (of Kansas)
- State Municipal Judge (of Kansas)
Are witnesses required to attend my marriage ceremony?
Kansas statutes require at least two (2) witnesses be present at your marriage ceremony. Both witnesses must be at least 18 years old. They must be "competent" witnesses, meaning they understand what they're observing and appreciate the seriousness of the event.
Whomever officiates your marriage must log the contact information (typically name and address) and signature of each witness.
Note: The officiant does not count as a valid witness.
Marriage License Blog
Check out the latest entries from our marriage license blog.
One of the truths from research is that through premarital preparation courses and programs divorces are reduced and healthy marriages…
Send us your questions or comments