Common-law marriage has diverse names, from "marriage in fact", "marriage by repute and habit", "informal…
Where to Apply
How can I get married in Nevada?
Before you can get married in Nevada, you must apply for a Nevada marriage license at any county clerk's office or authorized commercial wedding chapel.
What are the hours of operation for applying?
Applying in Las Vegas (Clark County) or Reno (Washoe County)?
Reno's and Las Vegas' main county clerk's office opens year-round between 8am and midnight.
Applying in another Nevada county?
Non-Reno/Vegas county clerk offices open weekdays at 8am or 9am and close at 5pm.
Applying in a wedding chapel?
Commercial wedding chapels may only issue marriage licenses to legal adults when the county clerk's office is closed.
What is a commercial wedding chapel?
A commercial wedding chapel is a one-stop-shop to obtain a marriage license and marry on the premises.
Note: Clark County does not have marriage license issuing wedding chapels.
Do commercial wedding chapels have limitations?
Commercial wedding chapels only issue marriage licenses when their county clerk's office is closed, and only to legal adults marrying in the county.
Are there any residency requirements?
Your residency does not affect the marriage license process. Nevadans, nonresidents, and foreigners can apply.
How much is a marriage license?
A Nevada marriage license costs between $60 and $77. It varies by county.
Will I get a marriage certificate as well?
Some Nevada counties will mail you a certified copy of your marriage certificate after marriage as part of the marriage license fee. Inquire when applying.
Where can I use my marriage license?
If you acquire your marriage license from a commercial wedding chapel, you must marry in that county. Otherwise, you're free to marry anywhere in Nevada.
Can I get married using another state's marriage license?
You must use a Nevada-issued marriage license to lawfully marry in Nevada.
What information will I have to fill out?
The marriage license application/affidavit will ask for the following under oath:
- Title (e.g., bride, groom, none)
- Current residence
- City, state, and country
- Date of birth
- State or foreign county of birth
- Social security number
- Only if you have one
- Collected for child support enforcement
- Marital history
- Total times married
- How the last marriage ended
- Date and place last divorced, annulled, or widowed
- Father's name and birth place
- Mother's full maiden name and birthplace
- Phone number
- Couple's mailing address
- PO Box is acceptable
- Where to mail your marriage certificate
What if I cannot apply in person?
If one of you is unable to apply in person, the county clerk may waive the nonappearance or refer the matter to a district court.
How old do I have to be to get married?
Aged 18 and over?
If you're 18 years old or older, you can marry without parental consent.
Aged 16 and 17?
If you're 16 or 17 years old, a parent or legal guardian must consent to your marriage.
Aged 15 and under?
If you're 15 years old or younger, you can marry with permission from a Nevada district court and a parent's or guardian's consent.
What are the parental consent requirements?
What's the procedure for granting consent?
Consent to marry from a parent or guardian can be granted in person before the county clerk or with a notarized consent form supplied by the clerk's office.
Which parent must grant consent?
Either parent can grant consent to marriage. It does not have to be a custodial parent.
When will I get my marriage license?
Your marriage license will be issued immediately. You can then marry without delay.
How long will my marriage license remain valid?
Your marriage license will expire one year after issuance.
Do I have to show ID?
Bring government-issued ID that verifies your name and age, such as a driver's license, state-issued ID card, military ID card, instruction permit, passport, or USCIS-issued certificate or residency card.
Note: If you clearly look older than 25, age verifying ID is not required.
Can I use my birth certificate as ID?
An original or certified copy of your birth certificate can be used as ID if supplemented by a document showing your name and photograph. Non-English certificates may require a certified and notarized translation.
Do I have to bring my social security card?
If you have a social security number, you do not need to bring your social security card or other document to verify it.
Must consenting parents and guardians bring ID?
Parents, bring ID and a certified copy of your child's birth certificate if surnames differ. Guardians, bring ID and guardianship papers.
Do I need to get a blood test?
You are not required to get a premarital blood test.
Will I have to show proof of divorce?
Although showing proof of divorce to get a marriage license is not required by law, county clerks are still allowed to ask for it.
Will I have to show proof of being widowed?
If widowed, some county clerks may ask to see a certified copy of your late spouse's death certificate.
How do I change my name?
You can change your middle and/or last name with your marriage certificate. Name change forms are available to help transition to your married name.
Do I have to change my name?
Name change is optional, but if you intend to do so be sure to specify your choice on the marriage license application.
What are my last name change options?
You can change your last name to your partner's surname, either's birth surname, or hyphenated combination of current or birth surnames.
What are my middle name change options?
You can change your middle name to either's current or birth surname, or even hyphenate your middle name with either's current or birth surname.
Can women, men, and same-sex couples change their names?
The marriage name change allowances are universal for women, men, and same-sex couples.
Which documents should I update?
Start with your social security card, then driver's license, passport, and other governmental and nongovernmental credentials.
Are witnesses required at my marriage ceremony?
One to two witnesses must attend your marriage ceremony. Afterward, their names must be printed on the marriage license.
Who can serve as my witness?
Other than the officiant and yourself, anyone of any age can serve as your witness.
Who can preside over my marriage?
Your marriage may be solemnized by a judge, justice, notary public, commissioner of civil marriages, or anyone authorized by a religious organization.
Can Indian tribes lawfully solemnize marriages?
Indian tribes can solemnize marriages between Indians according to their customs.
Can we preside over our own marriage without an officiant?
You cannot conduct a self-solemnized marriage ceremony where you and/or your future spouse play the role of officiant.
When must my marriage license be returned?
Your completed marriage license must be returned to the county recorder—not the county clerk—for recording within 10 days after the marriage ceremony.
How do I get a copy of my marriage certificate?
You can buy a certified copy of your marriage certificate from the county recorder's office that recorded your marriage license.
How do I correct a mistake on my marriage certificate?
Submit an affidavit of correction to fix an error on your marriage certificate. If the mistake is your fault, there's a max $25 correction fee.
Can I get married by proxy?
You cannot get married using a stand-in. You cannot get married by phone or video stream. You must be in physical attendance.
Can I marry a cousin or family member?
You cannot marry your first cousin. You cannot marry kin closer to you than a second cousin.
Can I get married to someone else if I'm still married?
Bigamy is illegal in Nevada, but exceptions are made if your prior spouse's whereabouts have been unknown for the past five years.
Can I have a common-law marriage?
Nevada will only recognize common-law marriages established prior to March 29, 1943.
Can we legally renew our vows?
You may only legally remarry your spouse using a new marriage license if your marriage record has been lost or destroyed.
But I was told I can get a certificate of vow renewal?
Some county clerks may issue a certificate of vow renewal, but it has no legal weight. It is not the equivalent to a marriage license.