Common-law marriage has diverse names, from "marriage in fact", "marriage by repute and habit", "informal…
Where to Apply
How can I get married in Oklahoma?
In order to get married in Oklahoma, you must first apply for an Oklahoma marriage license at the court clerk's office at any district court.
Are there any residency requirements?
There are no residency requirements for getting a marriage license.
How much is a marriage license?
An Oklahoma marriage license costs $50. It can be gotten for $5 if you complete premarital counseling.
Where can I use my marriage license?
Your Oklahoma marriage license can be used anywhere in the state. It's only usable in Oklahoma.
Can I use a marriage license from another state or country?
You can only get married in Oklahoma with a bona fide Oklahoma marriage license.
What information will I have to fill out?
The Oklahoma marriage license application is brief, merely asking your name, age, residence, social security number, and preferred name after marriage.
Do I have to apply in person?
You and your prospective spouse must apply for a marriage license in person together.
How old must I be to get married?
Aged 18 and over?
If you're at least 18 years old, you're free to marry without parental consent.
Aged 16 and 17?
If you're 16 or 17 years old, you can marry with the consent of a parent or guardian. Consent can be granted in person or by affidavit.
Aged 15 and under?
If you're 15 years old or younger, you can only marry with a court order from a district court judge. There'll be a hearing. Parents may be called upon.
What must a consenting parent or guardian do?
A divorced parent must prove custody. A guardian must prove guardianship. Either must show identification.
What's the financial advantage of premarital counseling?
Four hours of premarital counseling drops the marriage license fee from $50 to $5. The signed certificate of completion must be less than six months old.
When will I receive my license?
Wait time for adults?
If you're 18 years old or older, you'll receive your marriage license immediately. You can marry the same day.
Wait time for minors?
If you're 17 years old or younger, your marriage license will be issued 72 hours after applying. You can marry anytime after receipt.
How long will my marriage license last?
Your marriage license will remain valid for 30 days, which includes the day of issuance.
Update: Starting November 1, 2022, the expiration period extends from 10 days to 30 days.
Do I need to bring ID?
Bring identification that proves your age, such as a certified copy of your birth certificate, driver's license, passport, visa, or other government-issued credential.
Note: Some offices require supporting photo ID if using your birth certificate to verify age.
Will foreign ID be accepted?
Foreign identification not in English must be accompanied by an English translation.
Do I have to bring my birth certificate?
Some court clerks require minors to bring a certified copy of their birth certificate in addition to photo ID.
Do I have to bring my social security card?
You do not have to bring your social security card. However, the marriage application requires your social security number.
Do I have to get a blood test?
The blood test before marriage requirement hasn't been in effect since January 1, 2005.
Are there special requirements for divorcees?
If you were divorced in Oklahoma, you cannot marry within six months following divorce, unless you're marrying your prior spouse. Everyone else, bring a certified copy of your decree of dissolution of marriage.
Do I have to verify my spouse's death?
If your last marriage left you a widow or widower, bring a certified copy of your former spouse's death certificate.
How do I change my name due to marriage?
If you want to change your name because of marriage, use your marriage certificate to compel the necessary institutions to update your name on file. You can use an online name change tool to streamline the process.
Do I have to supply witnesses?
Two competent adult witnesses must be present at your marriage ceremony.
Who can preside over my marriage ceremony?
Oklahoma judges (active or retired) can solemnize marriages; religious officials can too if authorized by their denomination.
Can someone from out-of-state solemnize my marriage?
An out-of-state clergyperson can preside over your marriage.
Can we preside over our own marriage?
You cannot carry out a self-solemnized marriage ceremony, where you serve as your own officiant.
Does the officiant need to register their credentials?
As of November 1, 2022, ministers are no longer required to register their credentials with a county clerk to perform marriages in that county.
Does the court clerk's office facilitate civil ceremonies?
You must make your own civil ceremony marriage arrangements. However, the court clerk may be able to provide a reference.
When must the marriage license be returned?
Your completed marriage license must be returned to the issuing office for recording no later than five days after the ceremony.
How can I get a certified copy of my marriage certificate?
Certified copies of your marriage certificate (a.k.a. certificate of marriage) can be gotten from the court clerk's office that issued your marriage license.
I'm unavailable, so can I get married by proxy?
Oklahoma does not allow marriage-by-proxy. You cannot employ a fill-in. You must physically attend your marriage ceremony.
Can I marry my cousin?
First cousins cannot get married in Oklahoma. But such a marriage lawfully established outside the state would be recognized.
Can I marry a family member?
Oklahoma does not permit marriage among descendants and ascendants of any degree. This extends to brothers, sisters, aunts, uncles, nieces, and nephews.
Does Oklahoma recognize common-law marriage?
Oklahoma's recognition of common-law marriage is ambiguous at best. Attempts by lawmakers to explicitly abolish it have failed.