Common-law marriage has diverse names, from "marriage in fact", "marriage by repute and habit", "informal…
Where to Apply
How can I get a marriage license?
A marriage license is required to get married in Oregon. You can apply for an Oregon marriage license at any county clerk's office.
Does my residency matter?
Your county, state, or country of residence does not affect the marriage license process.
How much does a marriage license cost?
An Oregon marriage license costs between $50 and $68. The fee fluctuates across counties and is nonrefundable.
Where can I use my marriage license?
An Oregon marriage license is good statewide. It can only be used in Oregon.
Will a marriage license from another state work?
Only a marriage license from Oregon can be used in Oregon.
What information will I have to disclose when applying?
The gender-neutral marriage license application requests your:
- Birth name
- If differs from current
- Previous name
- If differs from current
- New name after marriage
- Used by SSA and DOT for name changes
- Age and date of birth
- Place of birth
- No PO Boxes
- Marital history
- Total times married
- Last marriage end date and reason
- Social security number
- Required only if you have one
- Last grade completed
- Father's name and birthplace
- Mother's birth name and birthplace
What if I can't apply in person?
You must apply for your marriage license together and in person. You cannot apply absentee, by proxy, or by affidavit.
Can I apply for a marriage license online?
Although some county clerk offices accept online marriage license applications, you must still come in to sign and pay for the license.
How old do I have to be to get married?
Aged 18 and over?
If you're 18 years old or older, you can get married without parental consent.
If you're 17 years old, you can marry with the written consent of a parent or guardian. Consent forms are available in the county clerk's office.
Aged 16 and under?
If you're 16 years old or younger, you cannot legally marry.
When will I get my marriage license?
Your marriage license will be issued immediately. However, there is a 3-day wait before it can be used. For instance, apply Monday to marry Thursday.
Can the waiting period be waived?
The three-day waiting period can be waived by the county clerk for about $10 to $25.
How long will my marriage license remain valid?
Your marriage license will expire 60 days after the three-day waiting period ends.
Do I have to show photo ID?
You must bring government-issued photo ID that verifies your age, such as a driver's license, military ID card, passport, or visa.
Do I have to get a blood test?
You do not have to submit to a premarital blood test or physical exam.
Do I have to show my divorce decree?
If your last marriage ended in divorce, you do not need to bring your divorce decree. Just know the date it was finalized.
Do I have to show a death certificate?
Widows and widowers must know the date of their prior spouse's death. Documentary proof is not required.
How do I legally change my name?
You can legally change your middle and last name because of marriage in several ways. An online name change kit is available that compiles the necessary forms.
What are my last name change options?
You can take your spouse's last name, hyphenate, or combine some or all of each surname with a hyphen or no hyphen.
What are my middle name change options?
You can drop your middle name or even replace or combine it with your birth, maiden, or current last name. Combinations can be with or without a hyphen.
Are witnesses required at my ceremony?
Two witnesses aged 18 or over must attend your marriage ceremony. Afterward, their names will be written on the marriage license.
Who can solemnize my marriage?
Your marriage can be solemnized by a judge, justice of the peace, magistrate, county clerk, or designee of any religious organization or congregation.
Can I get married in a civil ceremony?
A civil ceremony by the county clerk is typically appointment only and costs about $110. Most offices also maintain a list of available judges.
Can we execute a self-solemnized ceremony?
You cannot perform a self-solemnization, which is when you and your prospective spouse act as your own officiant.
When does my marriage license need to be returned?
After your marriage ceremony, the marriage license must be returned to the county clerk within five days so that it may be recorded.
Where can get a certified copy of my marriage certificate?
Do you know the source county?
You can purchase a certified copy of your marriage certificate for $7.75 from the county clerk's office that issued it. Extras are $4 each.
Do you need a statewide search performed?
If you do not know which county clerk's office maintains your marriage certificate, buy a certified copy from the Oregon Vital Records office for $25–$45.
What's the difference between the commemorative and certified certificate?
The commemorate marriage certificate provided the day you apply is just a souvenir. A certified copy is for legal purposes, such as changing your name.
Can I get married by proxy?
You cannot marry-by-proxy through the use of a stand-in. You must physically attend your marriage ceremony.
Can I marry my cousin?
You can only marry a first cousin if you're related by adoption.
Is marriage among all family members prohibited?
Oregon law prohibits marriage among ascendants and descendants of any degree. The prohibition extends to siblings, aunts, uncles, nieces, and nephews.
Can I enter into a common-law marriage?
Establishing a common-law marriage in Oregon is not possible. However, a common-law marriage lawfully established in another jurisdiction would be recognized.
Share your questions or comments
10 CommentsLeave a Comment
I am from New York State and my Fiancée is from a different State and we want to get married by someone at the Court house. How do we go about this to be able to return to New York State Married?
You can either have the county clerk perform your civil ceremony or have them refer you to a judge. Whichever you choose, it's best to lock in your appointment before you go in to apply for a license.
If we want a specific date on our marriage certificate, and that day falls on a Sunday…with the 3 day waiting period, can we get the Sunday date?
And if the day wanted is on a Monday, the apply day needs to be on wednesday correct?
Hi Suzy. You'll have to apply by Thursday to marry Sunday. Apply Friday to marry Monday. You'll get your marriage license the same day you apply, but it can't be used until three days later.
We have been living as a couple for over 35 years. We would like to make it legal. Can we just have the county clerk solemnize it without a ceremony?
Hi Karin. The ceremony conducted by the county clerk isn't flashy. It's barebones and expedient. They'll use a standard script. You can explain that you want the event as nondescript as possible.
We want to get married in Oregon (my native state), but are held overseas by insane work requirements around our desired "magic" date.
Can we apply for a marriage license via email, land mail for original documents, etc?
Hi Bill. Some county clerk's will let you complete the application online. You'll have to contact the one you plan to apply with to inquire. But you must still go in office to sign your license.
Can we just come in and get married or do we have to schedule an appointment?
Hi Amber. You should schedule an appointment.