Common-law marriage has diverse names, from "marriage in fact", "marriage by repute and habit", "informal…
Where to Apply
Where do I get a marriage license?
You can apply for a Tennessee marriage license at any county clerk's office. Either the county clerk or deputy clerk will help you.
How much does a marriage license cost?
The Tennessee marriage license fee varies by county, ranging from $93.50 to $107.50, with $100 being the most common price point.
Are there any residency conditions?
There are no marriage license residency requirements.
Where can I use my marriage license?
Your Tennessee marriage license can be used anywhere in the state, but only in Tennessee.
What information will the application ask for?
The marriage license application will ask for your current name, birth name, birth date, birthplace, gender, address, address after marriage, phone number, social security number, race, education completed, marital history, and parents' names, birth names, and birthplaces.
Can I submit my application online?
Most Tennessee counties allow you to submit the marriage license application online. You must pick up and pay for the license at the county clerk's office.
What if I can't apply in person?
You can submit a notarized absentee application or statement if you're a member of the U.S. armed forces serving overseas, incarcerated, or unable to appear due to a disability. Otherwise, you must apply together, in person.
How old must I be to get married?
Aged 18 and over?
Any adult aged 18 or over is free to marry without soliciting anyone's consent.
If you're 17 years old, you can get married to someone no more than four years your senior with the consent of a custodial parent, guardian, or next of kin. Consent can be granted in person or through a notarized affidavit.
Aged 16 and under?
Marriage below the age of 17 has been banned, effective May 21, 2018.
What's the benefit of taking a premarital preparation course?
The marriage license fee will be reduced by $60 if you and your fiancé each present a notarized premarital preparation course certificate of completion signed by the instructor within the past year.
When will I get my license?
You'll receive your marriage license immediately. You can marry that same day.
How long will my marriage license last?
Your marriage license will expire 30 days after it's been issued.
What form of ID should I bring?
Virtually any valid government-issued photo ID is acceptable, such as a driver's license, military ID card, passport, green card, or visa.
Will I also have to show my birth certificate?
If you're under 18 years old, bring a certified copy of your birth certificate. If you look less than 21, the clerk might want to see your certificate.
Do I have to get a blood test?
There is no longer a blood test requirement before getting married.
What if I'm previously divorced?
Divorcees do not have to bring proof of divorce. Knowing the divorce date is sufficient.
What if I'm a widow or widower?
Widows and widowers do not have to bring evidence of their late spouse's death. Just know the date of death.
Are witnesses required at my ceremony?
Witnesses are not required to participate in your marriage ceremony.
How do I change my name due to marriage?
Name change after marriage isn't an automatic process. Although your marriage certificate authorizes you to change your name, you have to submit the necessary forms. You can use an online name change service to help complete the process.
When does my license need to be sent back?
Your marriage license must be returned to the issuing county clerk to be recorded in the marriage registry no later than three days after your marriage ceremony.
How do I get a copy of my marriage certificate?
A certified copy of your marriage certificate can be purchased for $5 from the county clerk's office where you applied for your marriage license. The state's office of vital records also sells it for $15.
Can I enter into a common-law marriage?
Although you can't establish a common-law marriage in Tennessee, the state will recognize one lawfully established in another jurisdiction.
Can I marry my first cousin?
Marriage among first cousins is permitted.
Can I get married by proxy?
You cannot have a proxy take your place during the marriage ceremony. You must be physically present to exchange vows.
Can I get married in a civil ceremony?
You may ask the county clerk to schedule your civil ceremony with a judge at the county courthouse. Some county clerks also officiate.