Common-law marriage has diverse names, from "marriage in fact", "marriage by repute and habit", "informal…
Where to Apply
How can I get married in Utah?
Before getting married in Utah, you must make a stop into any county clerk's office to apply for a marriage license.
Are there any residency requirements?
There are no residency requirements to marry in Utah.
How much does a marriage license cost?
A Utah marriage license costs between $20 and $50. The fee swings across counties.
Do I have to pay for my marriage certificate separately?
Your marriage license purchase includes two certified copies of your marriage certificate. You'll receive them by mail after marriage.
Where can I get married once I have my marriage license?
Your Utah marriage license is good for use anywhere in the state. But only in Utah.
What information will I have to fill out?
The Utah marriage license application will ask for the following:
- Preferred title (i.e., spouse, bride, groom)
- Birth name
- If differs from current
- Date and place of birth
- Current address
- Not a PO box
- Phone number
- Social security number
- Required if you have one
- For child support enforcement
- Must corroborate with identification
- Marital history
- Total times married
- Last marriage end date and cause
- Race or nationality
- Optional, for vital statistics
- Education completed
- High school and college
- Father's name and birthplace
- Mother's maiden name and birthplace
- Expected ceremony date, city, county, and officiant
- Leave empty if undecided
- If applicable, provide LDS temple name
Do we have to apply together?
Some county clerks will allow you and your co-applicant to apply separately. Whoever comes in last must complete their side of the application and pay.
How old do I have to be to get married?
Aged 18 and over?
If you're at least 18 years old, you can marry without parental consent.
Aged 16 and 17?
If you're 16 or 17 years old, your custodial parent or guardian must accompany you when applying to grant sworn consent.
If you're 15 years old, the juvenile court in your county of residence can authorize marriage. Consent from a custodial parent or guardian is also necessary.
Aged 14 and under?
Fourteen year olds and younger have not been allowed to marry in Utah since May 3, 1999.
What's expected of a consenting parent or guardian?
A consenting parent who's divorced must show proof of custody. Guardians must show proof of guardianship. And bring photo ID.
When will I get my marriage license?
There is no waiting period. You will get your marriage license immediately. You can then marry without delay.
How long will my marriage license remain valid?
Your marriage license will expire 30 days after issuance, after which it will be void.
Do I have to show ID?
You must bring ID, such as a driver's license, Utah-issued ID card, military ID card, passport, or certified copy of your birth certificate.
Note: Many counties will not accept a birth certificate without supplemental photo ID.
Do I have to show my birth certificate?
Minors below the age of 18 must present a certified copy of their birth certificate.
Do I have to show my social security card?
If you have a social security number, bring documentation that confirms it, such as a social security card, W-2, tax return, pay stub, or bank statement.
Is a blood test required?
The premarital blood test requirement was abolished in 1987.
Do I have to prove I'm divorced?
You may be asked to show a certified copy of your divorce decree, especially if divorced within the past six months.
Do I have to prove I'm a widow or widower?
Although they can, most county clerks will not request proof of your prior spouse's death.
Can I change my name because of marriage?
Use your marriage certificate to change your name after marriage. You can use a name change package to prepare the proper forms. Update your social security card before your driver's license.
Are witnesses required at my ceremony?
Two adult witnesses must attend your marriage ceremony. Afterward, their names will be written on the license.
Who can lawfully preside over my marriage ceremony?
Your marriage can be solemnized by any of the following:
- County clerk
- Deputy county clerk
- County clerk designee
- Justice of the peace
- Court commissioner
- Minister, priest, or rabbi
- Must be at least 18 years old
- Must be in good standing with their religious society
- State house speaker or senate president
- Governor or lieutenant governor
- County executive
- County commissioner
- Native American spiritual advisor of a federally recognized tribe
Can a friend or family member officiate?
The county clerk can designate anyone to preside over your single marriage ceremony.
Can I have a civil ceremony?
County clerks that do civil ceremonies are typically by appointment only. Expect to pay $50 to $75. You can also ask for a list of available judges and officiants.
When must my marriage license be returned?
Your completed marriage license must be returned to the issuing county clerk for recording within 30 days after marriage.
How can I get a certified copy of my marriage certificate?
Your marriage license comes with two certified marriage certificates. Extra copies are available from the county clerk for $5 to $10.
Can I get married by proxy?
Proxy marriages are not allowed. If you cannot physically attend your marriage ceremony, you cannot lawfully marry.
Can I marry a first cousin?
Are you 55+ years old?
If you and your first cousin are at least 65 years old, you can marry without preconditions.
Are you 65+ years old?
If you and your first cousin are at least 55 years old, you can marry if either is confirmed sterile by a district court in either's district of residence.
Can I marry a family member?
You cannot marry a descendant or ascendant of any degree. The prohibition also includes siblings (half or whole blood), aunts, uncles, nieces, and nephews.
Can I get married if I'm already married?
You cannot commit bigamy, even in cases of spousal abandonment or disappearance.
Can I establish a common-law marriage?
Utah will recognize a marriage that has not been solemnized if a court or administrative order validates it.