Common-law marriage has diverse names, from "marriage in fact", "marriage by repute and habit", "informal…
Where to Apply
How do I get married in Wyoming?
The process of getting married in Wyoming begins with applying for a marriage license at any county clerk's office.
Am I married after I get my marriage license?
The marriage license only authorizes marriage. It must be followed by solemnization.
Does where I live impact the licensing process?
Your residency has no affect on obtaining a marriage license. You do not have to live in Wyoming to marry in Wyoming.
Do I have to be a U.S. citizen to marry in Wyoming?
You do not have to be a U.S. citizen to marry in Wyoming. Foreign applicants are eligible.
How much does a marriage license cost?
A Wyoming marriage license costs $30 in all 23 counties.
Does my marriage license come with a marriage certificate?
Your marriage license does not include a certified copy of your marriage certificate, which may be purchased separately.
Where can I use my marriage license?
Your Wyoming marriage license is usable statewide. It is only valid in Wyoming.
Can I use a marriage license from another state?
You may only get married in Wyoming with a Wyoming-sourced marriage license.
What information will I have to fill out?
The Wyoming marriage license application will ask for the following:
- Full name
- Birth surname
- Age and birthdate
- Social security number
- If it exists
- Not disclosed on public records
- Residential address
- No PO Box
- Mailing address
- If different
- PO Box allowed
- State or foreign country
- Specify one or more
- Hispanic origin, if any
- Highest grade completed
- Marital status
- Total marriages
- Date last widowed
- Date and place last divorced
- Father's name
- Father's birthplace
- State or foreign country
- Mother's full maiden name
- Mother's birthplace
- State or foreign country
- Phone number and email address
- If problems arise recording marriage license
How long is the application process?
The marriage license application process takes between 15 and 30 minutes.
What if I can't apply in person?
Only one applicant must apply in person. The absent applicant's ID must be brought.
Do I have to bring a witness when applying?
If one applicant is absent, a competent witness must attend to confirm the missing person's name, age, residence, social security number, and that no legal impediment to the proposed marriage exists.
I've been told we both must be present when applying?
Although the presence of both applicants is preferred, Wyoming law only requires one.
How old must I be to marry?
Aged 18 and over?
If you're 18 years old or older, you can marry without parental consent.
Aged 16 and 17?
If you're 16 or 17 years old, you can marry with a parent's or guardian's consent.
Aged 15 and under?
If you're 15 years old or younger, you must obtain a Wyoming court order to marry.
What are the underage marriage requirements?
Which parent grants consent?
If you're underage, consent to marry must be obtained from a parent, guardian, or legal caretaker.
What if my parents are divorced?
Parental consent requirements can be fulfilled by a custodial or noncustodial parent.
How must consent be officially expressed?
Parental consent may be granted verbally in person or in writing. Written consent must be attested to by a competent witness.
Can a consent form be picked up in advance?
A blank affidavit of parent's consent form may be picked up at the county clerk's office.
What if my parent or guardian objects to my marriage?
Consent from a parent or guardian for their minor child or ward to marry is mandatory. Courts will not veto parental objections.
How do I get a court order authorizing underage marriage?
If you're below the age of 16, your parent or guardian must ask a court in your county of residence to authorize issuance of a license.
Is there a premarital counseling marriage license fee discount?
Wyoming law does not allow the marriage license fee to be discounted if you undergo premarital counseling.
When will I receive my marriage license?
Your marriage license will be issued moments after you apply. You can marry the same day.
How long will my marriage license last?
Your marriage license will expire one year after issuance.
What if I lose or damage my marriage license?
A lost or damaged unexpired marriage license may be reissued without charge.
Must I bring ID?
You must bring photo ID, such as a driver's license, passport, state-issued ID card, military ID card, or school ID card.
Must I bring my birth certificate?
You do not have to bring your birth certificate. This also applies to minors.
Must I bring my social security card?
You do not have to bring your social security card. However, you must disclose your social security number.
Must a consenting parent or guardian bring anything?
Parents or guardians granting in person consent must show ID. Divorced parents must prove custody. Guardians must prove guardianship.
Do I have to get a blood test?
The Rubella and Rh factor premarital blood test requirement was repealed in 1985.
Do I have to show proof of divorce?
Know the date your divorce was finalized. Your divorce decree is unnecessary.
Do I have to show proof of being widowed?
Know the date your last spouse died. Their death certificate is not required.
How do I change my name after marriage?
You can change your name with a certified copy of your marriage certificate. You can start the name change process online.
Are witnesses required at my ceremony?
Two witnesses must attend your marriage ceremony and sign the marriage license afterward.
Who can perform our marriage?
Your marriage may be solemnized by a judge, justice, magistrate, or authorized person of any religion or religious society.
When must the marriage license be returned?
Your completed marriage license must be returned to the issuing county clerk no greater than 10 days after marriage.
How do I get a copy of my marriage certificate?
You may order a certified copy of your marriage certificate for $5 from the issuing county clerk or $20 from Wyoming's vital records office.
Do I need a certified copy of my license or certificate?
In Wyoming, a certified copy of your marriage license is the same thing as a certified copy of your marriage certificate.
Can I get married by proxy?
You cannot assign a proxy to stand in for you at the marriage ceremony. You must attend.
Can I marry a first cousin?
You cannot marry a blood-related first cousin.
Can I marry a family member?
You cannot marry kin, such as a grandparent, parent, child, grandchild, sibling, half-sibling, aunt, uncle, niece, nephew, or first cousin.
Can I marry a non-blood relation?
You can marry a member of your family if not related by blood.
Will my foreign marriage be recognized in Wyoming?
As long as your foreign or out-of-state marriage was legally valid where established, it will be recognized in Wyoming.
Can I enter into a common-law marriage?
You cannot enter into a new common-law marriage in Wyoming.
Will my out-of-state common-law marriage be recognized?
Wyoming does provide limited recognition of valid out-of-state common-law marriages.