Common-law marriage has diverse names, from "marriage in fact", "marriage by repute and habit", "informal…
Where to Apply
Where can I get a marriage license?
Before getting married in Minnesota, you must apply for a civil marriage license at the local registrar's office. Some are recorders, while others are treasurers. Consult the county list at the end for the proper office.
How much does a marriage license cost?
The Minnesota marriage license fee is $115 statewide. It's $40 if you take 12 hours of premarital education.
Do I have to pay for my marriage certificate separately?
The marriage license fee includes a complimentary certified copy of your marriage certificate that will be mailed to you after marriage.
Does my residency affect the application process?
The requirements for procuring a marriage license are the same for residents and nonresidents.
Where can I get married in Minnesota?
Your Minnesota marriage license can be used anywhere in the state. It can only be used within Minnesota's geographical boundaries.
What information will I have to fill out?
The marriage license application will ask for your name, prior birth or married name, address, birthdate, birthplace, sex, race, phone number, social security number, married name and address after marriage, felony convictions, and marital history.
Do I have to apply in person?
You and your prospective spouse must apply for your marriage license in person together.
How old must I be to marry?
Aged 18 and over?
Adults at or over the age of 18 don't need parental consent to marry.
Aged 16 and 17?
If you're 16 or 17 years old, you can marry with the written consent of your custodial parents or guardian, and authorization from a district court judge. Consent forms are available at the registrar's office.
Aged 15 and under?
If you're 15 years old or younger, you can't marry.
What's the advantage of taking a premarital education?
The marriage license fee is reduced from $115 to $40 with a notarized premarital educator's statement from a licensed or ordained minister, marriage and family therapist, or anyone authorized to solemnize marriages.
When will I get my marriage license?
Are you not an ex-felon?
You'll receive your marriage license immediately if you've not been convicted of a felony on or after August 1, 2000.
Are you an ex-felon?
If you have a felony conviction on or after August 1, 2000 and seeking a name change after marriage, the waiting period is 30 days. Otherwise, it's one day.
How long will my marriage license last?
Your marriage license will expire six months after issuance.
Can an expired marriage license be renewed?
You can renew an expired marriage license for free if you fail to marry due to illness or another extraordinary circumstance.
What ID must I bring?
Bring unexpired photo ID, such as a driver's license, state-issued ID card, military ID card, or passport. A certified copy of your birth certificate would also suffice.
Is a blood test necessary?
You don't need to get a premarital blood test.
Should I bring proof of divorce?
If you've been divorced within the past three months, bring a certified copy of your divorce decree. Otherwise, knowing the date, location, and courthouse where your marriage ended is enough.
Should I bring proof of my late spouse's death?
Knowing the date and place of your prior spouse's death is what's required. You don't need to show the death certificate.
Does my name automatically change after marriage?
Specifying a new name on your marriage license and certificate doesn't automatically change it. You can use a name change kit to help complete the necessary forms.
Are witnesses required at my ceremony?
Two witnessed aged 16 or over must attend your marriage ceremony and sign your marriage license afterward.
Who can lawfully officiate my marriage ceremony?
Your officiant must be at least 21 years old and a county-registered minister, judge, court administrator, or designee of a religious organization.
Can I get married in a civil ceremony?
The marriage license office typically maintains a list of local judges available to solemnize your civil ceremony. If not, you must find your own judge.
When must my license be returned?
Your marriage license must be returned to the issuing office for recording within five days after marriage.
How do I get a copy of my marriage certificate?
You'll automatically receive one certified copy of your marriage certificate after your marriage license has been returned for recording. It'll be mailed to the "address after marriage" you specify on the application. Extra copies can be purchased for roughly $9.
Can I get married by proxy?
You can't have someone stand in for you at the marriage ceremony. You must be there.
Can I marry my cousin?
You cannot marry your first cousin.
Is marriage among family relations allowed?
You can't marry a family member closer to you than a second cousin, whether related by half blood, whole blood, or adoption.
Can I establish a common-law marriage?
Minnesota will only recognize a common-law marriage lawfully established in another state.